top of page

THE ROAD TO SELF-DISCOVERY


I had another revelatory moment as I was driving home after a library date with my babies today. We love the library, you will hear a lot about libraries in my blog. In fact, I have graduated to Expert Library Hopper. Yay, me! There is something about driving that brings me peace and leads me to reflect on life. Except when there is traffic. Traffic does NOT bring me peace.

As I was driving home I began to reflect on the fact that I finally launched my blog after putting it off for a good two years. I was then reminded of how nervous I was the days leading up to my blog launch. My stomach was in complete knots the night I went live! I was so nervous that I had about a week’s worth of blogs lined up in the order I wanted them posted and was already brainstorming other topics to discuss for Week 2. I’ll admit, I can be a bit of a control freak at times. There, I said it!

As life would have it, I have yet to post any of the blog posts I had lined up. You would think it would throw me off. Instead, I am embracing the last minute change. You see, since the night I finally decided to go live I keep hearing that same still, soft voice within me that I spoke about in my post SPEED BUMPS. If you have not read it yet, you can read it here. Everyday this still, soft voice happens to teach me a new lesson or offer me a new revelation. Each time I am awed as if it were the first time, and often times the voice makes it clear to me that it is a revelation I am meant to share with others.

This time my revelation was coupled with a vivid vision. I get these a lot too, almost as if I am watching a movie play out in my head. The road I was driving on suddenly became narrower, the cars around me disappeared (thankfully I was still conscious of the fact that those cars were still there in real life and I happened to be approaching the light by my house), the road seemed to stretch out indefinitely ahead of me and it became clear to me that this road was a picture of my life. I began to think about small, simple details such as, I am the driver of this vehicle. No brainer, right? Therefore, I am in control. You must know that at this point I approved of the direction my thoughts were headed in. Control freak alert!

Here is where the still, soft voice crept in. You are driving the vehicle (YOU) on this journey (LIFE) to your destination (SELF-DISCOVERY), and you are in control of the steering wheel (YOUR CHOICES), but will you be stubborn and create a longer, tougher route for yourself by trial and error or will you be wise and use the GPS you were equipped with that already knows the way? There it was, my moment of fascination! The light bulb in my brain was so bright it nearly blinded me. Lord knows that I have spent enough time learning things the hard way. I made a choice right there in my vehicle that I would make it my business to remind myself every morning to set my GPS and every night I would evaluate if I followed my GPS properly that day.

Let me take this moment to address the word ‘self-discovery’. The Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines it as, “the act or process of gaining knowledge or understanding of your abilities, character, and feelings.” As a Christian woman, my desire to gain knowledge of my abilities, character, and feelings is imperative to living out my full potential and fulfilling my purpose/calling in life. I cannot as a Christian possibly achieve this level of self-knowledge without first seeking to know my Creator and where my story began. This is my personal belief, you may not agree and that is okay. We are adults and can agree to disagree. However, this is about my life and I want to be as transparent as possible.

Given my belief, my GPS of choice is the Holy Bible, what I recognize as God’s Word. This is my guide, it is where I seek direction from, and where I feel I can gain an understanding of God’s heart and mind. That being said, I am in no way, shape, or form perfect. Maybe I will hear what I want to hear from my GPS rather than listen to what it is actually saying and make a wrong turn here or there, but I will be willing to follow when it reroutes me. I have learned that even when I make plans for myself, God’s plans for me are greater. Even when I devise a detailed plan to post thought out blog posts at orchestrated times, He may minister a more on time Word to share with my readers and why would I hinder that?

As I seek to know Him more intimately, as I explore the gift He has given me to share with others, as I open my heart and mind to be sensitive to that still, soft voice, I learn more about myself by default. I am enjoying this ride, and I am steering clear of traffic for as long as I can help it.

Tell me what is your GPS of choice on your road to self-discovery in the 'COMMENTS' below.

bottom of page