top of page

JUST DO IT!


"Make like Nike and just do it!" said Daddy Steve only about a million times when I was growing up and found myself procrastinating to get something done. I had to replay his voice in my head today when I realized I have allowed time to escape me and what initially started off as a week’s lapse due to vacation has now turned into 2 months with no updated blog posts! This is not okay for me.

I tend to be a perfectionist in anything I do. It is both a strength and a weakness of mine. In this case, it has been a weakness in that I spent more time thinking about how I could perfect my next post than I actually did just being myself and letting that shine through my writing. At least, this has been the case in the last 2 months that you have not seen a new post on my blog. Everyday I found every excuse why I could not post yet and found every task to tackle in its place. I have written and rewritten lists of topics I would like to discuss, relevant thoughts I would like to share, tips I feel you might benefit from only to think myself in circles wondering, Well, which should I post first and in what order should I publish them?

Until today. I had an epiphany of sorts. Do not withhold what someone may need to hear today for your own fear of not relaying the message as perfectly as you would like to. Those who need to hear it will receive it. I am grateful for those who were there to remind me that my blog has reached a few already and has inspired some. To my faithful subscribers who reached out and asked when the next post was coming, thank you. This is for you.

Life will always happen. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner will always need to be made. Baths will need to be given. Chores will need to be done. Families will need to be taken care of. Responsibilities to larger organizations will need to be carried out. The world keeps spinning. The ball keeps rolling. Time waits for no one. However, I have learned that you make time for that which you really want to accomplish. When you are truly passionate about something, when it holds importance to you, when you make something a priority on your to-do list, time is no longer a factor.

Right now I need this blog perhaps more than my readers do. I am passionate about my faith. I am passionate about my family. I am passionate about my writing. I am passionate about my event planning and photography business. I am passionate about my thoughts. I am passionate about the revelations that often occur to me while driving or doing some other mundane task. This blog is a way for me to pour myself out and record my journey as a mother, wife, rising entrepreneur, and woman of God. It is a way to give of myself in an attempt that someone else may benefit from my journey, spiritually, mentally, and physically. I pray that person is you.

What are some things you feel like you need to tell yourself, “Just do it!” to complete today? Tell us in the 'COMMENTS' below.

bottom of page